HostUS Los Angeles VPS Review – Excellent Value!

Host US Logo

Good morning everybody!

I have been a customer of HostUS for quite some time.

Matter of fact, I signed up for the company December 29th 2015 after seeing their offers posted on Low End Box for their 768mb annual VPS offer they did for awhile which was really competitive at the time.

Fast forward to now, it’s a very solid service and I’m very pleased with everything HostUS has offered me over the years.

I have a total of four OpenVZ services with them:

  • Los Angeles, Dallas and Ashburn/WDC are part of a cPanel DNS only cluster.
  • Another Los Angeles VPS on standby/backup.

I was letting a Filipino friend I went to high school with connect to the LA VPS to allow him VPN access to US content.

To give you an idea, I am paying $11/year for this service I’m reviewing and later on in March 2016 the prices increased to $12/year so I purchased the DNS cluster using the performance and stability of this VPS as a measure. Now the price is up to $16/year.

You might be tempted with all these reseller offers of a certain company in their predictable locations at that price but avoid temptation and go with HostUS.

Anybody can order VPS nodes and offer $11 – $16/year VPS plans. Only HostUS, it seems, can stay long term offering these plans but also not relying on racing to the bottom trying to be the cheapest thing because now that I think about it, they rarely if ever have to advertise on LowEndBox or LowEndTalk.

# wget -qO- bench.sh | bash
----------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz
Number of cores      : 1
CPU frequency        : 2600.010 MHz
Total size of Disk   : 20.0 GB (11.0 GB Used)
Total amount of Mem  : 768 MB (768 MB Used)
Total amount of Swap : 768 MB (72 MB Used)
System uptime        : 45 days, 0 hour 7 min
Load average         : 0.08, 0.03, 0.01
OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab130.1
----------------------------------------------------------------------
I/O speed(1st run)   : 34.2 MB/s
I/O speed(2nd run)   : 31.9 MB/s
I/O speed(3rd run)   : 31.5 MB/s
Average I/O speed    : 32.5 MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
CacheFly                        205.234.175.175         98.9MB/s
Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          15.3MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            7.06MB/s
Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           2.47MB/s
Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           9.31MB/s
Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             20.1MB/s
Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           47.8MB/s
Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          63.0MB/s
Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            9.34MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           17.9MB/s
Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          20.9MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Node Name                       IPv6 address            Download Speed
Linode, Atlanta, GA             2600:3c02::4b           5.51MB/s
Linode, Dallas, TX              2600:3c00::4b           32.4MB/s
Linode, Newark, NJ              2600:3c03::4b           15.7MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG           2400:8901::4b           7.51MB/s
Linode, Tokyo, JP               2400:8900::4b           11.1MB/s
Softlayer, San Jose, CA         2607:f0d0:2601:2a::4    73.8MB/s
Softlayer, Washington, WA       2607:f0d0:3001:78::2    36.4MB/s
Softlayer, Paris, FR            2a03:8180:1301:8::4     15.5MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG        2401:c900:1101:8::2     6.91MB/s
Softlayer, Tokyo, JP            2401:c900:1001:16::4    6.73MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Very respectable if you ask me.

The Los Angeles location is ideal across all of the US and in the Asia-Pacific region. If you’re in Western Europe, it’s not exactly the best but you’ll survive.

Also, its amazing to see their expansion at the following locations below:

  • Charlotte, USA
  • Atlanta, USA
  • Dallas, USA
  • Los Angeles, USA
  • Washington DC, USA
  • London, UK
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Singapore

At first it was Dallas, LA, WDC, and London.

Next came Singapore and Hong Kong, then all the rest were established.

I have only tested Dallas, LA, WDC and London but I may look into ordering additional services with HostUS as I have a project where I’d need reliability.

-------------------------------------------------
 nench.sh v2018.04.14 -- https://git.io/nench.sh
 benchmark timestamp:    2018-11-17 14:49:26 UTC
-------------------------------------------------

Processor:    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz
CPU cores:    1
Frequency:    2600.010 MHz
RAM:          768M
Swap:         768M
Kernel:       Linux 2.6.32-042stab130.1 x86_64

Disks:
Filesystem        Type      Size Inodes
/dev/ploop44277p1 ext4       20G   1.3M

CPU: SHA256-hashing 500 MB
    4.674 seconds
CPU: bzip2-compressing 500 MB
    7.207 seconds
CPU: AES-encrypting 500 MB
    2.061 seconds

ioping: seek rate
    min/avg/max/mdev = 32.2 us / 127.2 us / 12.9 ms / 248.7 us
ioping: sequential read speed
    generated 599 requests in 5.01 s, 149.8 MiB, 119 iops, 29.9 MiB/s

dd: sequential write speed
    1st run:    29.95 MiB/s
    2nd run:    30.23 MiB/s
    3rd run:    30.23 MiB/s
    average:    30.14 MiB/s

IPv4 speedtests
    your IPv4:    104.128.233.xxxx

    Cachefly CDN:         82.96 MiB/s
    Leaseweb (NL):        9.13 MiB/s
    Softlayer DAL (US):   0.00 MiB/s
    Online.net (FR):      2.97 MiB/s
    OVH BHS (CA):         16.07 MiB/s

IPv6 speedtests
    your IPv6:    2602:ffc5:20:xxxx

    Leaseweb (NL):        7.24 MiB/s
    Softlayer DAL (US):   0.00 MiB/s
    Online.net (FR):      7.79 MiB/s
    OVH BHS (CA):         12.89 MiB/s
-------------------------------------------------

I like this benchmark script due to the CPU testing but the network testing isn’t as good. I may fork both scripts into a “vpslist” script.

The disk I/O isn’t exactly the best which isn’t surprising looking at the uptime of the server. I’m sure its a rowdy VPS node with noisy neighbors and who knows running what. As a past VPS company sysadmin, you always have that one node that always goes crazy at predictable hours full of people doing things.

However monitoring on my other services isn’t a problem.

Conclusion

If you’re looking for a hosting provider and want reliability but don’t want to go to a “big box” hosting company and want to establish a relationship with a smaller hosting company, go with HostUS.

I am very pleased and it just simply works without any drama.

I am going to pay my invoice for this service I reviewed and keep it going for the third year then renew my cPanel DNS only cluster in March when it comes up for renewal also.