HostUS Los Angeles VPS Review – Excellent Value!

Good morning everybody!

I have been a customer of HostUS for quite some time.

Matter of fact, I signed up for the company December 29th 2015 after seeing their offers posted on Low End Box for their 768mb annual VPS offer they did for awhile which was really competitive at the time.

Fast forward to now, it’s a very solid service and I’m very pleased with everything HostUS has offered me over the years.

I have a total of four OpenVZ services with them:

  • Los Angeles, Dallas and Ashburn/WDC are part of a cPanel DNS only cluster.
  • Another Los Angeles VPS on standby/backup.

I was letting a Filipino friend I went to high school with connect to the LA VPS to allow him VPN access to US content.

To give you an idea, I am paying $11/year for this service I’m reviewing and later on in March 2016 the prices increased to $12/year so I purchased the DNS cluster using the performance and stability of this VPS as a measure. Now the price is up to $16/year.

You might be tempted with all these reseller offers of a certain company in their predictable locations at that price but avoid temptation and go with HostUS.

Anybody can order VPS nodes and offer $11 – $16/year VPS plans. Only HostUS, it seems, can stay long term offering these plans but also not relying on racing to the bottom trying to be the cheapest thing because now that I think about it, they rarely if ever have to advertise on LowEndBox or LowEndTalk.

# wget -qO- bench.sh | bash
----------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU model            : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz
Number of cores      : 1
CPU frequency        : 2600.010 MHz
Total size of Disk   : 20.0 GB (11.0 GB Used)
Total amount of Mem  : 768 MB (768 MB Used)
Total amount of Swap : 768 MB (72 MB Used)
System uptime        : 45 days, 0 hour 7 min
Load average         : 0.08, 0.03, 0.01
OS                   : Debian GNU/Linux 8
Arch                 : x86_64 (64 Bit)
Kernel               : 2.6.32-042stab130.1
----------------------------------------------------------------------
I/O speed(1st run)   : 34.2 MB/s
I/O speed(2nd run)   : 31.9 MB/s
I/O speed(3rd run)   : 31.5 MB/s
Average I/O speed    : 32.5 MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Node Name                       IPv4 address            Download Speed
CacheFly                        205.234.175.175         98.9MB/s
Linode, Tokyo, JP               106.187.96.148          15.3MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG           139.162.23.4            7.06MB/s
Linode, London, UK              176.58.107.39           2.47MB/s
Linode, Frankfurt, DE           139.162.130.8           9.31MB/s
Linode, Fremont, CA             50.116.14.9             20.1MB/s
Softlayer, Dallas, TX           173.192.68.18           47.8MB/s
Softlayer, Seattle, WA          67.228.112.250          63.0MB/s
Softlayer, Frankfurt, DE        159.122.69.4            9.34MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG        119.81.28.170           17.9MB/s
Softlayer, HongKong, CN         119.81.130.170          20.9MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Node Name                       IPv6 address            Download Speed
Linode, Atlanta, GA             2600:3c02::4b           5.51MB/s
Linode, Dallas, TX              2600:3c00::4b           32.4MB/s
Linode, Newark, NJ              2600:3c03::4b           15.7MB/s
Linode, Singapore, SG           2400:8901::4b           7.51MB/s
Linode, Tokyo, JP               2400:8900::4b           11.1MB/s
Softlayer, San Jose, CA         2607:f0d0:2601:2a::4    73.8MB/s
Softlayer, Washington, WA       2607:f0d0:3001:78::2    36.4MB/s
Softlayer, Paris, FR            2a03:8180:1301:8::4     15.5MB/s
Softlayer, Singapore, SG        2401:c900:1101:8::2     6.91MB/s
Softlayer, Tokyo, JP            2401:c900:1001:16::4    6.73MB/s
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Very respectable if you ask me.

The Los Angeles location is ideal across all of the US and in the Asia-Pacific region. If you’re in Western Europe, it’s not exactly the best but you’ll survive.

Also, its amazing to see their expansion at the following locations below:

  • Charlotte, USA
  • Atlanta, USA
  • Dallas, USA
  • Los Angeles, USA
  • Washington DC, USA
  • London, UK
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Singapore

At first it was Dallas, LA, WDC, and London.

Next came Singapore and Hong Kong, then all the rest were established.

I have only tested Dallas, LA, WDC and London but I may look into ordering additional services with HostUS as I have a project where I’d need reliability.

-------------------------------------------------
 nench.sh v2018.04.14 -- https://git.io/nench.sh
 benchmark timestamp:    2018-11-17 14:49:26 UTC
-------------------------------------------------

Processor:    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz
CPU cores:    1
Frequency:    2600.010 MHz
RAM:          768M
Swap:         768M
Kernel:       Linux 2.6.32-042stab130.1 x86_64

Disks:
Filesystem        Type      Size Inodes
/dev/ploop44277p1 ext4       20G   1.3M

CPU: SHA256-hashing 500 MB
    4.674 seconds
CPU: bzip2-compressing 500 MB
    7.207 seconds
CPU: AES-encrypting 500 MB
    2.061 seconds

ioping: seek rate
    min/avg/max/mdev = 32.2 us / 127.2 us / 12.9 ms / 248.7 us
ioping: sequential read speed
    generated 599 requests in 5.01 s, 149.8 MiB, 119 iops, 29.9 MiB/s

dd: sequential write speed
    1st run:    29.95 MiB/s
    2nd run:    30.23 MiB/s
    3rd run:    30.23 MiB/s
    average:    30.14 MiB/s

IPv4 speedtests
    your IPv4:    104.128.233.xxxx

    Cachefly CDN:         82.96 MiB/s
    Leaseweb (NL):        9.13 MiB/s
    Softlayer DAL (US):   0.00 MiB/s
    Online.net (FR):      2.97 MiB/s
    OVH BHS (CA):         16.07 MiB/s

IPv6 speedtests
    your IPv6:    2602:ffc5:20:xxxx

    Leaseweb (NL):        7.24 MiB/s
    Softlayer DAL (US):   0.00 MiB/s
    Online.net (FR):      7.79 MiB/s
    OVH BHS (CA):         12.89 MiB/s
-------------------------------------------------

I like this benchmark script due to the CPU testing but the network testing isn’t as good. I may fork both scripts into a “vpslist” script.

The disk I/O isn’t exactly the best which isn’t surprising looking at the uptime of the server. I’m sure its a rowdy VPS node with noisy neighbors and who knows running what. As a past VPS company sysadmin, you always have that one node that always goes crazy at predictable hours full of people doing things.

However monitoring on my other services isn’t a problem.

Conclusion

If you’re looking for a hosting provider and want reliability but don’t want to go to a “big box” hosting company and want to establish a relationship with a smaller hosting company, go with HostUS.

I am very pleased and it just simply works without any drama.

I am going to pay my invoice for this service I reviewed and keep it going for the third year then renew my cPanel DNS only cluster in March when it comes up for renewal also.

HostUS One Year Review

I’ve been a customer for over a year with HostUS and currently have five active 768mb OpenVZ services with them.

Let me go ahead and say that I’m absolutely 100% satisfied with their services over the past year.

I use 3 of those 5 services for a cPanel DNS Only cluster which has worked absolutely great. This cluster is used for my primary cPanel server for my customers. If I had any issues with the cluster, it would impact my customers and my websites which it did not.

Continue reading “HostUS One Year Review”

HostUS Review Update

I’m not posting this to beat up on HostUS, as many accuse our page of being “too soft” on providers. However I had my “first issue” with HostUS over the past 24 hours.

One of their LA nodes was having an issue and was rebooting. I opened a support ticket which Leo answered very quickly considering HostUS being in the “low end” crowd regarding VPS hosting services. I was receiving cPanel Monitoring emails about services for this cPanel DNS Only VPS failing, then recovering and I decided to login to investigate.

The uptime was low, about an hour total, and a few reboots occurred when I was logged in.

I logged in, checked with the “last” command and indeed the service was reboot. I checked my processes and network traffic, didn’t see anything weird, as I was possibly thinking I could have a compromise such as DDOS attacks or something CPU intensive running. Nothing was giving me the indication of this so I opened up a ticket with HostUS after exhausting everything from the self-managed side that I could.

Like I said, Leo responded very quickly and later on Andrew followed up with me to say the issue was finally resolved. This is what I call A+ service for such an amazingly affordable service with such reliability and backed with such great support. Granted some would say there should be no downtime but I’m reasonable and I understand what I pay for.

HostUS Review – Solid Uptime In London

HostUS is one of my favorite, “go to” hosting providers.

I’ve been a fan of their 768mb VPS plans in their locations which have 1 CPU, 768mb RAM, 20GB of disk space and 2TB of transfer per month. The price has changed since it was initially offered but the $11 – $12/year cost is now up to $16/year which is still a great price. It’s not a great price for those seeking sub-$15/year plans however you can’t make everybody happy.

The 768mb VPS plans are perfect for private VPN servers, web servers, small clusters like DIY CDNs, and even cPanel DNS Only clusters which I use the service for on the US locations. I currently use this London UK service for an OpenVPN installation. I run an LibreNMS instance on one of the 768mb services. I have 6 active 768mb VPS plans with HostUS and I’m extremely satisfied.

HostUS London location showing the uninterrupted network transfers
HostUS London location showing the uninterrupted network transfers

As you can see on the 30 days of graphs above, there has been no interruption in the network uptime of the VPS at their London, UK location. I am extremely satisfied and was hesitant at first to get the location but the location hasn’t failed me in my decision to go with it.

The VPS is powered by a Intel Xeon E3-1270v5 CPU running at 3.6Ghz which is a very powerful and new (by hosting industry standards) CPU compared to some of the older 1230s and 1270s being used by other companies. For a 768mb VPS, 1 CPU is more than enough for what you’re trying to reasonably do.

With my LibreNMS monitoring, I can see the service uses minimal hardware and network resources. This service just idles until I need to login to use the VPN. The service just runs so smoothly that the only downtime I experienced was seeing network alerts regarding flapping when HostUS was having some issues with denial of service attacks the past few weeks but it never impacted my experience. It seems that a lot of hosting companies, data centers and network carriers are experiencing some large denial of service attacks lately with some suggesting that somebody/something is possibly ‘testing’ the Internet out for weaknesses.

Conclusion:

You cannot go wrong with choosing HostUS for your hosting needs.

I’ve been with new and established providers over the past 6 years but have closely been watching HostUS establish themselves then expand into new locations that are the same quality that their customers expect. HostUS has locations in the US, the London location but also Sydney, Singapore and Hong Kong which these three locations are rare for most providers let alone having all three locations as a provider would have one of the three as Southeast Asian locations have their different operating costs which can add additional costs to hosting in those areas.

HostUS Review – My cPanel DNS Only Cluster

I’ve been a HostUS customer since December 2015 with their $10/year and $12/year 768mb RAM OpenVZ plans.

I have services in Los Angeles, Dallas, Washington DC (Ashburn, VA) and London, UK. I can’t really say I have one location preference over another but I will say all four of these locations are solid. I even have a monthly VPS in Atlanta which I’ve been extremely satisfied with that I use as a VPN.

LibreNMS graph from the LA DNS server
LibreNMS graph from the LA DNS server

The Los Angeles location has over 39 days of uptime since I deployed the cPanel DNS only software on the service. This service is located in Psychz’s LA location. The network at this location is DDOS protected and 20Gbps of complimentary DDOS protection is offered at no additional price when you sign up.

LibreNMS graph from the Dallas DNS server
LibreNMS graph from the Dallas DNS server

The Dallas location has over 39 days of uptime since I deployed the cPanel DNS only software on the service. This service is located in Psychz’s Dallas location.┬áThe network at this location is DDOS protected and 20Gbps of complimentary DDOS protection is offered at no additional price when you sign up.

LibreNMS graph from the WDC DNS server
LibreNMS graph from the WDC DNS server

The Washington, DC (Ashburn, VA) location has over 39 days of uptime since I deployed the cPanel DNS only software on the service. This service is located in Psychz’s Ashburn, VA location.┬áThe network at this location is DDOS protected and 20Gbps of complimentary DDOS protection is offered at no additional price when you sign up.

As you can see with the graphs, where the LibreNMS installation is running on an OVH VPS #1 instance, that the network with HostUS is reliable with only one network gap in the Los Angeles graphs over the 39 days of the DNS cluster running.


The low cost of running this DNS cluster is what attracts me to the service.

For $12/year for the Los Angeles, Dallas and Ashburn location you cannot beat $36 per year for running a DNS cluster in the United States especially with how reliable it is. I know there are some providers offering similar or more generous resources for less than $12/year but with this you get the 768mb of RAM, 2TB of network transfer on a 1Gbps port and the 20Gbps free DDOS protection in the Psychz locations of Los Angeles, Dallas and Ashburn.

Some providers only offer DDOS protection in the location they have it at but HostUS provides it at all their US locations. The only exception that I know of is there is a Dallas #1 and Dallas #2 location, with one of the locations not having Psychz protection, so if it’s required you can add it to the order notes and/or open up a sales ticket when you submit your order stating that you need the Dallas DDOS protection on Psychz’s network otherwise there is a possibility that you won’t get the deployment in that location.

If running DNS isn’t your thing, you could easily host static files with a type of content delivery network (CDN) using nginx, rsync and the generous 20GB disk space provided on each service. Maybe toss in some free Rage4 geolocated DNS for good measure.. there’s tons of potential and not much limitation with the resources except the limitations of your imagination.


Conclusion:

I am very satisfied with Alexander’s service he offers with HostUS.

The technical support is responsive for what you are paying for- you’re not going to get top premium support at this monthly price but I’ve had response/resolution times that I felt were very adequate and sometimes it’s been faster than “better known” providers. I think customers who complain about technical support might not understand to explain, in detail, the issue and submit the ticket but submit a vague issue, add in the support ticket delay, then complain that it’s taking too long.

However I’ve filed 6 tickets in my client area- 3 tickets wondering about activation, one ticket requesting sys_time to be enabled so I can use NTP on the DNS cluster to set the system time, the outage at the UK location which they moved to another UK facility in response to the DDOS attacks, and a ticket wondering about the Dallas DDOS protection.

With just 6 tickets filed, I would say HostUS is definitely smooth sailing and an enjoyable experience.

I have LibreNMS installed so I can easily see if I have any network/connectivity issues which I have none. There was that minor outage in Los Angeles but the third party monitoring I use on top of my LibreNMS installation didn’t indicate anything so I figured it was some temporary network connectivity issue with HostUS in Los Angeles and OVH VPS #1 at the BHS location.